Magic is only available to spellcasters, who can learn different spells according to their class and the Lore of magic they chose. At the same time, each Lore belongs to a great magic realm, depending on the type of gods that are venerated.
|Elements||Fire, Earth, Air, Water|
|Light and Harmony||Light, Blessings, Runic, Music|
|Darkness||Necromancy, Witchcraft, Underworld, Corruption|
|Nature||Nature, Tribal, Channeling, Animism|
Mana Pool[edit | edit source]
Limits on the Number of Casts[edit | edit source]
A spellcaster can only cast the same spell up to a number of times according to his Sorcery Level (see below) during a quest, unless he takes a magic recovery potion. These potions, in addition to recovering mana points, allow the wizard to remove one mana marker placed on the card of a particular spell he has already cast.
Sorcery Levels[edit | edit source]
Based on a hero's VP, he is assigned to a Sorcery Level. These levels only apply to heroes and not to characters from the Dark Player and Mercenaries. Therefore their magic abilities are according to the heroes's level Journeyman.
|Casting Limit||Permanet Spell Duration Modifier||Damage Die Modifier|
|Apprentice||1||2||-1 turn||-1 die|
Any hero with the ability to cast spells will be regarded as an Apprentice until he reaches a VP of 18. As long as he is an Apprentice, he will only be able to cast each spell he knows twice per game (instead of the usual 3 times), his offensive spells will cause 1 less damage die than usual (this also includes the damage dealt by any Elementals he may summon), and the duration of his permanent effect spells will be reduced by -1.
When a spellcaster reaches a VP of 40, he becomes a Master. Thereafter, he can cast each spell he knows 4 times per game.
Components and Scrolls[edit | edit source]
Spellcasters may only use one magic scroll or components for magic per turn.
Line of Sight and Cover[edit | edit source]
Spells require Line of Sight to their target. Cover will only be taken into account in the case of magic projectiles.
Casting Spells[edit | edit source]
Dispelling[edit | edit source]
As soon as a spell is successfully cast, a spellcaster on the opposing side can immediately declare that he will try to dispel it, before its effects are resolved. Such dispelling will require an Intelligence test on the part of the dispelling caster, which must exceed the total result with which the spell was cast (therefore, it will actually be an opposed Intelligence roll). If the dispelling is successful, the spell will have no effect but will still consume the caster's mana .
Spells cannot be dispelled while within an enemy's Melee Range. Successful dispelling will require 1 mana point. Characters can't try to dispel when they have no mana left.
Only characters 8 squares or less away from the spellcaster who cast the spell or from the spell's target may try to dispel a spell.
Line of Sight is not required.
If there are several characters with the ability to dispell a spell, each one can make an attempt in any order.
Spellcasters controlled by the ADP will always try to dispell any spell casted.
- Unofficial FAQ 2020-08-23 https://dungeonuniversalis.miraheze.org/wiki/File:Hardcore_FAQ_Dungeon_Universalis-2020-08-23.pdf